156,996 members
2,180,045 photos
5,876,685 comments
 Fotothing Chat    Off Topic    Showing Off    Tips    Cameras    Editing    Printing    Competitions    Requests    Bugs   

Legit Site???

Posted By Message
virginiabrill
Sat 21st Jun 2008 18:22
I am saving for either a Nikon D70 or a Nikon D80, whichever I can find a better deal on, which honestly, it looks like I can find a better deal on the D80 (why???). Anyways, I googled sites that sell refurbished cameras, and came across:

http://www.photodynasty.com

I was wondering if anyone has bought from here or know that it is a legit, honest site. The prices are really good, is why I'm asking.

I appreciate it! =)
virginiabrill
Sat 21st Jun 2008 19:24
Nevermind....It was a little hard to find it, but I found tons of reviews that said things about how they wouldn't sell the battery or charger or even the strap with the "body only" cameras...and that they've screwed hundreds of people over..these people actually run under about 8 names....

Why do people have to be like this? All I want is an affordable camera from honest people and I gotta worry about being scammed around every corner....
Pondy PRO
Sat 21st Jun 2008 19:49
Get a D80 over the D70 every time, the D70 is starting to look a bit long in the tooth now.

keaphoto on ebay is very keenly priced to the UK, not so sure to the US though.

Holy Cow.. I just checked, D80's in the US are not so cheap.. sod it all and get a P80 :)
virginiabrill
Sat 21st Jun 2008 20:24
Originally posted by Pondy:
Get a D80 over the D70 every time, the D70 is starting to look a bit long in the tooth now.

keaphoto on ebay is very keenly priced to the UK, not so sure to the US though.

Holy Cow.. I just checked, D80's in the US are not so cheap.. sod it all and get a P80 :)



It was cheaper on that site...the scamming site...lol...of course...So I fell in love with the D70 and that's what I am going to buy...I think....=(

Why is this such a hard decision and why do I have to be so broke????
DonnyG PRO
Sun 22nd Jun 2008 16:24
Originally posted by virginiabrill:
I was wondering if anyone has bought from here or know that it is a legit, honest site. The prices are really good, is why I'm asking.


Hi, Viriniabrill

I went thru a similar process. I searched online for a reputable store, and wow, for me that was clearly hard to come by. I learned - if it's too good to be true ...

Here are some bad sites to be aware of ... and use the search option to look for more if you'd like.
http://search.newyork.bbb.org/reports.aspx?pid=44&page=1&id=12668

I eventually found a camera store I trusted (online reviews are wonderful) with reasonable prices and within driving distance. I checked out there site online and found out what I was getting myself into. Once satisfied I visited the store and because it was more on a personal basis I asked if what I had just purchased was available as a kit at a reduced priced. She replied she'll check with the manager, (i'm sure she did) and returns 10mins later knocking $300 off my purchase and that's on top of $650 in Canon rebates. I could never achieve that kind of service online.

Not only that, I could hold it, know that it's not a refurbished product (packaging should reveal that) and be rest assured that the warranty will stick and it's not a counterfeit product. If I had immediate problems with the camera I was still in the parking lot and not re-packaging it and waiting weeks for it. I really enjoyed my experience and would repeat the same steps with my next purchase ... many years down the road mind you!

If you're interested, here's the store I purchased from.
http://www.vistek.ca/
Doody PRO
Fri 27th Jun 2008 08:08
http://cgi.ebay.com/Nikon-D70-with-Nikon-Lens-Memory-Battery-in-EX-shape_W0QQitemZ330247378247QQihZ014QQcategoryZ43456QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


VB this look cheep ....
virginiabrill
Fri 27th Jun 2008 10:55
Thanks Doody, but I've ordered one! As soon as the dude ships it out! =P
Doody PRO
Fri 27th Jun 2008 13:50
What have you ordered D70 or D80 ..... (you super Nikon owner)
virginiabrill
Fri 27th Jun 2008 14:02
A D70...I am so excited! I got a lens for it today and the CF card....now I'm just waiting on the body to get here! I HAAAATE waiting!
Doody PRO
Fri 27th Jun 2008 14:06
Greatb stuff, I still use mine - get yourself a spare battery for it & then game on...
I know that you are going to have great fun with it ...

By the way is that man of yours ever going to get his Skype back on line ?
virginiabrill
Fri 27th Jun 2008 14:11
Originally posted by Doody:
By the way is that man of yours ever going to get his Skype back on line ?


Probably not...it slows down his gaming...Hahahaha...I had a Skype account for a while, but noone really ever talked to me! I just deleted all the Messengers off my computer...no point in em anymore!
Doody PRO
Fri 27th Jun 2008 14:17
In that case I will delete his name from my list & wait no longer - lol
virginiabrill
Fri 27th Jun 2008 14:29
Originally posted by Doody:
In that case I will delete his name from my list & wait no longer - lol

LOL

Maaaan...where'd I leave that time Fast Forward button!? I want my camera!!!!! LOL
Log in or join now to post messages.